I don’t think I could be as nervous or in as much anticipation if I was a real US Olympian. I feel as though I am on the starter blocks of the 400yrd race – Not quite as fast as the 100yrd but still goes by pretty quick.

My pattern is staring at me daring me to start…just daring me. I keep debating on whether to take half the day off tomorrow. I just got my pattern and yarn a few days ago as I decided to change my mind again and go back to my original idea of the Peacock Feathers Shawl. I was all ready to do the sweater when I saw that I had actually signed up with Yarn Harlot to do the Shawl. Once I saw that I was committed, no turning back.

The pattern is a little daunting as I have never had to read a chart before, let alone backwards. I will be using lots of lifelines and calling on the goodness of (1) my local knitting shop – Alamitos Bay Yarn Co. and (2) my local SNB Long Beach for both advice and moral support.

I also found some kindred spirits as we are not only on the same team (Team Lace USA) but running the same race (Peacock Feathers Shawl)
Allison – Peacock Feathers Shawl
Felicia at sweetgeorgia – Peacock feathers shawl
Jeanne – Peacock feathers shawl
Lisa A. – Peacock feathers shawl

In order to finish this, I will have to knit 17 rows a day. This might not sound hard but in the end the shawl is 88″ in with and has 240+ rows which means those last few days are going to be a bitch to knit my quota. I can do this….I can do this….just breathe!!

