img_1735_filtered-1.jpg

This was my final project for my sewing class. I have been meaning to show you all this project for some time. I finally got around to wearing it today. At first I didn’t like it, but it is much better with a cami underneath. Don’t know if that will save it from the eventual Goodwill pile though 😦

Fabric: Flat Folds from M&L
Inspiration: Butterick 4457 Shirt
New Tech: Buttonholes, tucks
Cost: Approximately $6.00
Enjoyment Factor:
6

The Good:

  • The cost of course! Since this was my first sewn shirt I wanted to make the pain of possible sewing mishaps to be minimal, hence the Flat Folds fabric from M&L
  • The collar came out really good. I say this because this posed a problem for a lot of my classmates but to uneven color length issue
  • I love my fabric covered button. I saw the idea executed at Whispering Pine and knew that my shirt needed fabric covered buttons too

 

img_1591.jpg

The Bad:

  • Like the skirt, I don’t really wear button down shirts.
  • “Tucks?? What are tucks??” These were my words when the teacher told me that the lines in the pattern picture were not darts, but tucks. “Eew, that’s not how I saw this shirt” were my next words. But after adding them to the shirt, they grew on me. Not enough for me to love them, but enough so that I was not severly disappointed.

img_1596.jpg

  • Buttonholes are evil. Actually it was due more to the machine mishaps I had in class which prevented me from getting a good buttonhole. When I finally did get one that worked right, I made the hole too big for the button. Have you ever ripped out buttonhole stitches?? Believe me, I was cussing in my head the whole time.
  • The pattern has lots of little details that add to the pretty basic design of the shit shirt (excuse my typo 🙂 ), including side slits

img_1595.jpg

The Ugly:

  • The sleeves bother me. The fit is good but the sleeves have a tendency to restrict my arm movement a little when I reach forward. This may be why this shirt will most likely find itself as a donation to goodwill. It is sad but true

Sewing Time: 10 hours – Not hard, but I only did it in class and had to learn all sorts of new techniques.

