2131011454_7463f5f824.jpg

So courtesy of Lolly and Knit Lit I bring you the Best of the Best 2007. However, instead of just keeping it to my knitted accomplishments I am going to expand it to include sewing and possibly some other hobbies I may take up in the future.

1. Your best FO of the year:

2. Best FO of the year made by a blog you link to: Wow this is hard. There were so many wonderful FO’s in 2007 that remembering them all and THEN deciding if they are the best is far to complicated. So I will give you a selection of FO’s that I distinctly remember from 2007. The fact that I remember them makes them noteworthy.

3. Best yarn you tried

  • Noro Iro – Very expensive, but well worth the money. It is not scratchy at all to me and has such lovely color.
  • Berkshire Bulky – This is a great inexpensive, soft, and warm yarn produced by WEBS. I have already used on two pattern and definitely have it as a bulky yarn backup if needed.

4. Best new book/mag/pattern of 2007

  • Best Mag goes to: Burda World of Fashion – This is the hands down winner for best magazine discover. Hot damn this magazine is good. Now I just need to get my sewing skills up to par so that I can rival those contestants on Project Runway for my fashion sewing capabilities.
  • Best Book goes to: Craft Inc. – I really love the business minded content in the book and the fact that it is very contemporary instead of the stuffy business books in the library. The interviews are superb and Meg herself is a wonderful speakers.
  • Best Pattern goes to: Autumn Rose Pullover – I hope to get enough guts to make this sweater because it
  • is absolutely beautiful!!

5. Best new knitting technique or gadget you tried in 2007

  • Italian Tubular Cast-On – This really produces such wonderful results! It looks so finished and professional
  • Two color knitting – I am definitely addicted to this one. I can’t wait to start a Venezia!! Wait did I say that :)

6. Best new sewing technique or gadget you tried in 2007

  • Using a serger machine. I really enjoyed the professional finish that it created on my clothes. So much so that I brought one for my Christmas present. More on that later
  • Embroidery – which I used on my Wee Wonderfuls
  • Creating an inseam pocket – which I used on my Springtime in Craftland Apron

7. Top 5 inspirations–what five things inspired you the most over the past year?

  • Anthropologie catalog – This catalog is always a reflection of some interesting knits and sewn fashions
  • Blueprint Magazine – Loved for its contemporary crafts and wonderful collections of ideas and colors. This magazine however will see its end in 2008.
  • Nordstrom’s catalogall the things I would love to wear and have, but am too chub and poor to afford. Therefore I have to try and make them :)
  • Knitty – Always an inspiration for every knitter.

8. Designer who most amazed & inspired you throughout the year

  • Amy Butler – She has really topped my list for amazing designers because I just think her ideas are so creative and the patterns are challenging yet doable.
  • brooklyntweed - He brings about great designs with great yarn as the foundation.
  • Eunny Jang - She has such seemingly complicated and yet gorgeous patterns that I know that I will get a wonderful challenge and a beautiful FO when I make her patterns

9. Knitting resolutions for 2008

  • Make a two color sweater – specifically the Venezia Sweater
  • Learn to crochet – not really a knitting resolution, but could be useful for knitted projects

10. Sewing resolutions for 2008

  • Learn, and master, my new serger
  • Make a pair of pants
  • Make one, if not many patterns from my Burda World of Fashion Magazines
  • Finish my tailored jacket and quilts that are currently in the W.I.P. category
  • Learning how to Crewel – since I got the book for Christmas

11. What’s next for you and your blog?

  • Actually I will be moving and renaming my blog to prepare for some other crafty goals I have for 2008. Nothing solid or anything but just another resolution for 2008. Stay tuned for the move in January

OK people!! That was way harder than I imagined it to be. This is pretty much a post created over three days of pondering and  I feel like I barely scratches the surface of all the wonderful people and finished objects I have seen in 2007.  Hopefully 2008 will be just as filled with great people, great design, great knitter, great sewer, and great crafty people in general.

Happy 2008 Bloggie Buddies!!!

ny2-hny7.gif

